Game Jam

Practice workshops and Game Jam
Experience the potential of gamification in a two-day Game Jam, accompanied by three thematically linked workshops

In Game Jams, a format that originated in the game development industry, interdisciplinary teams develop game ideas within a very short time. In the process, the teams ask themselves similar questions as founders do when developing business ideas: What is the goal of the game (or business idea)? Who are the (potential) players (customers)? What game principles (value propositions) can I use to inspire these players?

At StartPlay 2022, scientists, founders, startup supporters and incubators can experience the principle and process of a Game Jam by developing a game idea themselves in three workshop sessions and then presenting it to a jury at the conference - learning by doing! The best game idea will be awarded with a Best Game Idea Award (and can of course be pursued as a start-up).

The three workshop sessions will be led by the team of systainchange and EMPAMOS . The special feature of this Game Jam is that during the game development you are in a game - a specially adapted version of "Pitch Your Green Idea!". In addition, the EMPAMOS method helps you find and combine the ideal game elements for your game.

The principle of a Game Jam

A game jam traditionally brings together various people from the game development industry to develop a game within a very short time. It is somewhat comparable to the principle of a hackathon, in which software solutions to specific problems or challenges are worked on very intensively in a short period of time. In both formats, teams with members from diverse fields and with different expertise work together on ideas and implementations in a short period of time. However, the Game Jam is not primarily about software development, but rather about the development of game ideas, game principles, game elements and game rules. An implementation in the form of a first (digital) prototype can, but does not have to, take place.

Practice workshops

The Game Jam is made up of three linked workshops that guide you through the game development process in a structured way.

Workshop Idea Generation

The first section of the Game Jam is about brainstorming and the essential framework of the game idea. For this purpose, you will learn a creative method for brainstorming and will be guided through the first phases of game development with the help of the board game "Pitch Your Green Idea!".

Workshop Game Elements

In the second part, the methodology workshop by EMPAMOS focuses on the selection of game elements and with the help of EMPAMOS game elements are selected for the own project.

Workshop Pitch

The methodology workshop of the third part serves the pitch preparation. The prototype for the pitch is deepened and the final pitch event is prepared.

Recent Comments
    Latest Events
    5. August 2022
    Ads
    Event Search

    You should choose a search result page. You can choose the page from the Theme Options > Events > Event Search Results Page option.

    Latest Posts
    en_USEnglish

Game Jam

Praxisworkshops und Game Jam
Erleben Sie das Potenzial von Gamification in einer zweitägigen Game Jam, begleitet von drei thematisch verknüpften Workshops

In Game Jams, einem Format das ursprünglich aus der Spielentwicklungsbranche stammt, werden innerhalb kürzester Zeit von interdisziplinären Teams Spielideen entwickelt. Dabei stellen sich für die Teams ähnliche Fragen wie Gründer*innen bei der Entwicklung von Geschäftsideen: Was ist das Ziel des Spiels (oder der Geschäftsidee)? Wer sind die (potenziellen) Spieler (Kunden)? Mit welchen Spielprinzipien (Wertangeboten) kann ich diese Spieler begeistern?

Auf der StartPlay 2022 können Wissenschaftler*innen, Gründer*innen, Gründungsunterstützer*innen und Inkubatoren das Prinzip und den Ablauf einer Game Jam erleben, indem sie selbst in drei Workshop-Sessions eine Spielidee entwickeln und anschließend auf der Konferenz einer Jury präsentieren – Learning by Doing! Die beste Spielidee wird mit einem Best Game Idea Award ausgezeichnet (und kann natürlich gerne als Gründung weiterverfolgt werden).

Die drei Workshop-Sessions werden durch das Team von systainchange und EMPAMOS angeleitet. Das Besondere dieser Game Jam ist, dass Sie sich während der Spielentwicklung in einem Spiel – einer eigens angepassten Version von „Pitch Your Green Idea!“ befinden. Zudem hilft Ihnen die EMPAMOS-Methode, die idealen Spielelemente für Ihr Spiel zu finden und zu kombinieren.

Das Prinzip einer Game Jam

Bei einer Game Jam treffen traditionell verschiedene Menschen aus der Spieleentwicklungsbranche zusammen, um innerhalb kürzester Zeit ein Spiel zu entwickeln. Es ist ein bisschen vergleichbar mit dem Prinzip eines Hackathons, bei welchem in kurzer Zeit sehr intensiv an Softwarelösungen für bestimmte Probleme oder Herausforderungen gearbeitet wird. In beiden Formaten arbeiten Teams mit Mitgliedern aus diversen Bereichen und mit verschiedenen Fachkenntnissen gemeinsam und in einer kurzen Zeitspanne an Ideen und Umsetzungen. Bei der Game Jam geht es jedoch nicht vorrangig um die Softwareentwicklung, sondern vor allem um die Entwicklung von Spielideen, Spielprinzipien, Spielelementen und Spielregeln. Eine Umsetzung in Form eines ersten (digitalen) Prototypen kann, aber muss nicht erfolgen.

Praxisworkshops

Die Game Jam setzt sich aus drei verknüpften Workshops zusammen, die Sie strukturiert durch den Prozess der Spielentwicklung leiten.

Workshop ``Ideenfindung``

Im ersten Abschnitt der Game Jam geht es um die Ideenfindung und den wesentlichen Rahmen der Spielidee. Hierfür lernt ihr eine Kreativmethode zur Ideenfindung kennen und werdet mit Hilfe des Brettspiels „Pitch Your Green Idea!“ durch erste Phasen der Spielentwicklung geleitet.

Workshop ``Spielelemente``

Im zweiten Teil wird im Methodik-Workshop durch EMPAMOS ein Schwerpunkt auf die Auswahl der Spielelemente gelegt und mit Hilfe von EMPAMOS Spielelemente für das eigene Projekt ausgewählt.

Workshop ``Pitch``

Der Methodik-Workshop des dritten Teils dient der Pitch-Vorbereitung. Der Prototyp für den Pitch wird vertieft und das abschließende Pitch-Event vorbereitet.

Latest Events
5. August 2022
Ads
Event Search

You should choose a search result page. You can choose the page from the Theme Options > Events > Event Search Results Page option.

Latest Posts
de_DEDeutsch